Answer Keys

Are there answer keys (or possible solution keys) to the VEX IQ Stem Labs?

1 Like

Hi Amy!

In the VEX IQ (1st gen) STEM Labs, they are built into the Teacher version of the Lab.

Here is an example from Movement Challenge.

For VEX IQ (2nd gen) Units, the answer keys can be found in the Teacher Portal for the Unit.

I hope this helps!

You did share some things I didnā€™t know aboutā€¦ thank you! But I still would like to see some sample code blocks that solve the 2nd generation challenges. For example, I was able to work through the labs myself and come up with a possible solution for the treasure hunt challenge. I am still learning how to code these solutions myself and I like to be ā€œone stepā€ ahead of the kids so I can explain to them why things arenā€™t working the way they expected. I also can see what foundational knowledge they will need prior to the lab as well as recognize common mistakes and misconceptions. I teach these IQ labs with 4th - 6th graders as a special rotation. I only see them 40 minutes every 4 days, so Iā€™m having to adjust these labs for time and for the sheer number of students I teach each week (around 200 students).

Hi Amy,
We do not currently have solution code for the IQ 2nd generation challenges. Let me explain a little bit about why ā€“ the goal of these challenges is not for students to get the ā€˜perfectā€™ code answer or create the ā€˜idealā€™ robot, but to engage in a process of iteration, testing, trying new ideas, documenting their work, and learning in a very hands-on way. There are many, many possible solutions to each challenge, which is a great opportunity for students to see that there can be multiple answers to the same ā€˜questionā€™, and to express their creativity through their code or design.