Intro unit for beginning robotics class (and teacher)?

Hi-

We recently purchased the EXP Classroom kit and are so excited! Prior to accepting this job, I taught one year of PLTW Principles of Engineering using the VEX V5 platform… that’s it for my robotics experience. I am teaching a middle school (grades 7-8) robotics course using the EXP system (this course had previously been taught with VEX V5). Before you jump in to the STEM Labs, do you do a basic intro to the kit, safety, etc? Does anyone have any resources they’d be willing to share? Also, anyone developed labels for the EXP kits/jewel cases they’d be willing to share? Any tips, tricks, advice? I’m a veteran math/engineering teacher… just new to the world of robotics and very excited to be here!

Hi @Cassie_Banka and welcome! The EXP Certification Course is a great place to learn all about teaching with EXP! In addition to the curriculum found here: EXP | VEX Education, you can check out the VEX EXP Activities | VEX Education such as “Can You Name That Part?”, “Scavenger Hunt”, and “Advanced Scavenger Hunt”. These are just three Activities you can do with students, or yourself that are more introductory and will get you familiarized with your Kits!

There are also a lot of great resources found in the VEX Library. Remember, EXP is the classroom version of V5, so all electronics are backwards and forwards compatible if you have them laying around from the previous course. For instance, here is a great article that can be applied to EXP Safety! Additionally, here is an article using EXP to teach V5 STEM Labs.