PD+ Live Course: Introduction to VEX IQ (March 2022)

Hello and welcome! This is the thread we will use for our Introduction to the VEX IQ live course! Please feel free to @ me with any questions as we move forward.

1 Like

Hello, I am looking forward to learning more about VEX IQ and how I can best support my learners and robotics students

2 Likes

Hi! I’m Jess deBruyn. I teach PreK-8 technology at an urban scholarship school in Pittsburgh for the past 4 years. Before that taught coding and robotics at the Carnegie Science Center. I’m excited to learn how to bring this critical technology and conceptual knowledge to my students in a fun, engaging, and applicable way to show them new opportunities and open their eyes and minds to new concepts and career opportunities.

2 Likes

Hi everyone! My name is Sharon Mumm and I am a Technology Coordinator at an elementary school in Mountain Brook, Alabama. I have been a coach of a VEX-IQ robotics team for the last 5 years. I was formerly a 3rd and 5th grade teacher. I love working with the students on the use of Vexiq

2 Likes

Lauren - Do you know if VEX has any curriculum or STEM labs for Graphing on the coordinate plane? (Like turning the playing field into a coordinate plane)

1 Like

Hi @Andi_Sutphen great question! Short answer is not specifically for IQ, but we do have a lot of resources that can be adapted. Let me share what I have currently, and then we can always discuss how to adapt the resources further during our next discussion.

First of all, if you have a registered team, you have access to VIQC Virtual Skills, which is a fantastic resource. I’m going to share some resources from both VIQC Virtual Skills and VRC Virtual Skills (but again, anything can be adapted).