Pedagogy question- use of remote control, sensors

I am new to Vex and our students have made great progress learning to code autonomously. I have a nagging question though- when I introduce the remote, what makes robotics an academic computer science topic vs. just driving by remote? I want to make sure it’s not a glorified remote control car. Is the focus more mechanical in designing the robot to complete certain tasks? What would be the coding aspect to teach the students? Are the sensors used in official competitions?
Sorry if this is too elementary but I need to wrap my head around the pedagogy and academic connections.
Thanks so much.
Michelle

1 Like

Hi @Michelle_Sherry! Welcome to the community and this is a fantastic question! Using the Controller has many benefits, including allowing students to see hardware and software working together, engineering, and teaching CS topics.

At the very minimum, using the built in Drive program with the Brain allows students to quickly see if they have built something correctly (if the robot responds to the Controller properly ie, it drives correctly, it has been built correctly).

Using the Controller vs. autonomous code can also show students how precise and accurate autonomous coding can be. For example, driving in a square using code is a lot more precise than driving in a square using the Controller. This gives students the opportunity to see the differences as well as the advantages of autonomous movements.

There is also the ability to assign certain motors to the Controller’s buttons. This is useful if students create something more complex such as a robot with an intake or other types of motor control that they want to be able to manipulate via the Controller.