Vex Camp

Does anyone on here do there own camp for 4-6th? Any different setups then what is at camps.vex.com?

Hi Barry! Before VEX, I worked in or ran camps for almost 10 years. So I have worked with many setups. Is there anything specific you want to try and start running for a camp setting? Would be more than happy to help you brainstorm your own camp!

First, I’m new to vex. This is my first year in teaching. We are a private school and are running a camp for kids who have no experience with robots (4th-6th). I’d like to build simple bot and do a competition but also include some of the activities with vex too. Looking around 4-5 day camp. I have 10 Gen 2 kits.

Ooo I have a few ideas. I am going to roughly sketch out what I think a half day camp could look like, but we can tweak and add things as we brainstorm together :slight_smile:

Also apologies in advance for the length of this message. I get very excited about camp design.

For Day 1, I would recommend starter activities like:

These would be a great place to start for students who have never used the robotics or built with a VEX IQ Kit. Gets them exploring the kit while still being a challenge.

For Day 2:
After they understand the kit a bit more, I would recommend a Speed Bot (Build instructions link) for a really simple build to help them get started with a mobile robot. Then you can do some starter activities like the Lesson 2 and 3 of the Team Freeze Tag STEM Lab Unit. That challenges the students to try different controller configurations and test the different wheels in the kit. So they are both learning, testing, and competing with one another!

Now these Lessons use the BaseBot, but the Speed Build will function essentially the same for these challenges.