VEX PD+ Live Sessions: Engineering 101

Welcome to the thread for the “Engineering 101” Live Session! Here, you have the opportunity to discuss with VEX Experts and educators from around the world about drivetrains, mechanisms, chassis and more. You can also ask questions and provide suggestions for what you would like to see discussed during each session in this series. We’re so excited to learn with you! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’m really excited and passionate about this topic because I am a Mechanical Engineer myself. I want to use this Live Session as a way to show off and teach mechanical principles through VEX Robotics. If you are unsure how to apply these engineering concepts, or are seeking inspiration for engaging VEX-based activities, our Engineering 101 Live Session is perfect for you!

Just a reminder that tonight, Tuesday April 18 at 6:30pm Eastern Time, we will be hosting our first Engineering 101 Live Session. In this session, we’ll explore how to use gears to generate mechanical advantage with your VEX Robots. We will be examining how gears interact with one another, discuss various use cases, and learn how to determine when (and how) to implement a gear system. So if you are unsure how to begin applying these engineering concepts in your classroom, or want to see different ways to apply gears, I will see you tonight!

Let me know if you’d like to see something particular in the future, or if you have any questions/comments!

3 Likes

Thanks to everyone who attended last month’s session. In case you missed it, I’ve attached links to both the recordings as well as the slideshow used when we discussed all things gears!