VEX Robotics Community Introductions

Hey everyone! My name is Alaina Caulkett, and I am an educational developer here with VEX Robotics.

Prior to joining the team, I was a science museum educator specializing in summer camps and scout programs! So I love talking about informal education and how to incorporate robotics and CS in all sorts of learning environments.

Can’t wait to hear more about everyone’s background and how they’re incorporating VEX into their classrooms! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Educational Biography:

My educational and professional background is varied and eccentric. I did a variation of public school, home study, and community college courses to earn my high school diploma. Sufficed to say, I did not go through school traditionally. After high school, I worked for a call center, joined the military, and then became a stock broker. After a decade break from school I decided to finally finish my degree. Did a few things after that before coming to my senses and became a teacher!

Promo for the classes I teach right now: Why STEM Class? (at Bel Air Middle School?) - YouTube

Certifications:

Standard Texas Teaching Certifications:

• Technology Applications EC-12
  • General Education 4-8
  • Special Education EC-12

PLTW Certifications:

• Automation & Robotics
  • Design & Modeling
  • Medical Detectives
  • Green Architecture

Experience:

In my first year as a Middle School teacher, I taught 8th Grade Math the next year I taught 7th Grade Science, 8th Grade Science, and 6th/7th Grade Gateway to Technology. I have received professional training from Project Lead The Way (PLTW) for Automation and Robotics, Design and Modeling, Medical Detectives, and Green Architecture. I am currently employed as the STEM Teacher at Bel Air MS in El Paso, TX. In spring of 2019 I was accepted into the PLTW Master Teacher program and helped to certify other teachers for Green Architecture.