Vexcode will not download to Chromebooks

Hello. I am new to Vex IQ and we have run into a problem. My students can not download to their Bots on their Chromebooks. We receive an error that the Compiler has timed out. I have looked at the Compiler process has timed out. I’ve run the Vexcode Cloud Check and everything comes back connected. I reached out to VEX support and they pointed me to the article about the VEXcode Cloud Check. No matter if we use the codeiq.vex.com or the VEXcode IQ app pushed to the Chromebooks. Has anyone else had this issue? I’m wondering if it’s a student OU problem because if I log into the Chromebook as me it works.

Thanks for reaching out about this issue.

Based on what you are describing, it sounds like you will need to get your school’s IT involved to fix this issue. Since the app works for you on the same chromebooks that fail for the students, the probably cause is that the student accounts are configured so that they have more restricted access to the internet. This practice does make sense in a school to try to keep the students safe, but it does make it harder to identify the cause of issues related to those restrictions. The same probably also applies to the computer you were using to test with the VEXcode Cloud Check Utility, allowing it to work for you since your account does not block access to the cloud compiler.

In this case you will need to talk with your IT department and ask them to open up access to the cloud compiler for your students. You can send them to the KB article for their information on what to allow access to and how to check access to the compiler server.

Hello. Thank you for your response. I am actually the director of tech here and my team and I are stumped. We have determined that if we move the student out of the Student OU in Google Admin, they can compile. However, there are so many settings in Google Admin we are stumped as to which one could be causing this problem. Any thoughts?